There were dice in the mirror!

So, we spent our weekend here:

If you can't sing the theme song, it's time for you to leave.

Baby J and her cousin are only 9 months apart, which is great. Even though 9 months in baby months is a pretty big leap – kind of same way 1 human year is like 24 dog years (roughly) and 15 minutes in fairyland is 1 year in Bon Temps (True Blood fans? eh?) – it’s still awesome to stick the bebes together and see what they’ll do. Annnnd I’m not gonna lie, my hope is that seeing her cousin do awesome 18 month old baby things will help convince J that it’s time to level up and become a super genius baby way ahead of her time. Seriously Baby, it’s time to move past the tricks that any average baby or above-average dog could do. Jeez.

Oh yeah? Well I bet your smart ass dog can't do all THISSSSS

Saturday started out low-key, with an early morning ‘ladies only’ dog walk. I say that like it was totally an exclusive event, when in actuality:

a) both my sister’s dogs are male, and

b) the human males were still asleep.

It was so nice… just me, my sister, my baby (who I was wearing), my two dogs (one of whom is totally insane), and my sister’s two dogs (one of whom is totally insane). Hmmm. I guess ‘low key’ has a different definition, post-babies. We were a good 20 minutes from their house when Josie sneezed. “Aw, so cute! Baby sneezes!” you say. Well to that I emphatically reply, NO. OMG. Her head isnt’ that big, I honestly didn’t know she was capable of storing so many boogers in there – and smarty pants Hangin’ On hadn’t had the forethought to bring any tissues (can I still blame new mom syndrome if my daughter is almost 9 months old??). My daughter was strapped to my chest, I was wearing only a tank top, each of my hands was currently holding a dog leash, and each of my baby‘s hands were currently flailing about and smearing green gobs ev.ery.where.

dramatic reenactment

Being the wise moms that we are, my sister and I decided that our two easiest choices – leaves and the plastic bags we’d brought for dog poo purposes – were not acceptable tissue alternatives. Instead, I ended up wiping her up as best I could with my shirt and we booked it home, both covered in snot. Pretty sure that means I leveled up as a mom. Or down, if you’re not into the whole ‘being covered in snot’ thing, but I choose instead to focus on the self-sacrificing nature of donating my shirt to a higher (read: baby) purpose.

After we managed to clean ourselves up we spent the rest of the weekend chillin’ in good ol’ Roxborough, and also traipsing about in the New Hope/Lambertville area with the junior mayor. It was awesome. Speaking of Lambertville, do you also love this video? Cuz you really should:

Yeah, so the baby didn’t learn to sprint this weekend, but I guess I’m ok with that. She’s lucky she’s cute. Thanks to the family and friends who made our trip so great!

About hangonbaby

HangOnBaby is a teacher/wifer/wannabe-stay-at-home-mommer living in Baltimore with her husband, baby, and 2 dogs. She's currently obsessed with trying to save enough money to be a full time mom and wife. On days when she isn't good at saving money, she writes about other things.
This entry was posted in Vacation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to There were dice in the mirror!

  1. NSC says:

    Ok, I can’t remember EVERY word to the song, but I can still rap it out like I was watching it this morning! L O V E the Fresh Prince!!

  2. Auntie Lolo says:

    I can’t believe you found Lambert!! That was one of Chris’s favorites! (ok, mine, and I made him watch it…Mom’s prerogative when they’re too small to work the remote…)

  3. Carri Beer says:

    i remember every word to “Laaaambert, the sheepish lion, Laaaambert is always tryin to be a wild and wooly sheep, Laaambert the sheepish lion!”
    Have lost many a shirt to baby snot…

    • hangonbaby says:

      I love that you know about Lambert!! I swear, nearly everyone else I’ve ever brought it up to thinks I made it up :p Also, I’m not glad you have lost many a shirt to baby snot (especially since all your shirts are so freaking cute), but it’s nice to know I’m not the only one, hehe.

  4. Josie says:

    I know I’m a bit biased, as you are my FAV Dillie and the most fantastic mother of my one and only FAB granddaughter, BUT…as usual this is hilarious and I love your references to two subjects I know a bit about True Blood and snot, The former being much more interesting than the latter.

  5. WonderSue says:

    Baby J is only reenacting her Poppy’s early days — he has a lot of Snot Stories as you recall so she comes by it honestly. Still, it’s too bad about the Sacrificial Shirt!

Leave a Reply

